MMA: Journey to saving my life

Four years ago I stepped foot into my first MMA (Mixed Martial Arts) school. As I walk through the door for the first time I could feel my heart pounding like it was going to be ripped out of my chest, I had a cold sweat running down my cheek. Hearing the yells from the students in the Taekwondo class I am approached by a man who stands at six foot seven inches tall and weighs about 230 pounds dressed in full uniform. Around his waist sits a black belt with the name Finney embroidered onto it, with lines on it which are indicating his rank which was a third degree black belt. He had a very firm handshake as he introduces himself to me, he was very welcoming. We sat down and talked for about an hour or so; I kept losing focus because of the students funneling in and out of the classroom entering there hour of training as more and more students wait outside of the door waiting for their class to begin.
Mr. Finney and I had our introductory and then he kindly offered to let me try class. That moment I stepped foot into my very first Brazilian Jiu Jitsu class. I was smiling from ear to ear so eager to begin my martial arts journey. The nerves quickly began to set in as I watch the other students walk onto the mat and begin stretching. I was approached by one person who stood out to me first. His name was Ethan Ross he was fifteen years old at the time and a very successful martial artist at such a young age. We quickly became really good friends and he helped me develop my foundation in martial arts. As we began class I was introduced to the class while we were stretching out. After we were done stretching we began our drills. I was
nervous yet confident, I have always been a quick learner when it came to physical activities. I was learning basic position and submissions learning them very quickly so eager to learn more.
After class I was fatigued and beaten down. I used muscles that I didn’t even know I had, but it felt good none the less.
After my first Jiu Jitsu class I walked into my first taekwondo class in ten years, now that was a whole other story. It was disciplined there were no breaks you went as hard as you could for the whole hour you were in that class. I was introduced to class by a women who had the same last name as my Jiu Jitsu teacher. Her rank was higher though, she was a fourth degree black belt. Her name was Mrs. Finney and she was a tough instructor. It did not matter that it was my first time taking class in ten years she treated me like I was one of her regular students and I loved it. I loved being challenged and pushed to my limits and being pushed past them creating new limits. That is how you grow as a martial artist, you do not find your limit and stop there you find your limit and you push yourself past them to become stronger and know what it means to be dedicated to something.

Published by: headkick360

my name is Brandon I am a 19 year old martial artist. I have been interested in martial arts all my life. I first started my martial arts journey when I was around 5 years old starting out with Taekwondo. I stopped training for about 10 years which was the biggest mistake I've made. I started training again at 16 and since the four years I have been training I have on my black belt in Taekwondo in my blue belt in Brazilian Jiu Jitsu. I have competed in several in BJJ competitions as well as TKD tournaments. I am a world champion in my Taekwondo organization and have several first place finishes and BJJ. I have recently started MMA and looking to pursue my journey there.

4 Comments

4 thoughts on “MMA: Journey to saving my life”

Leave a comment